Les ressources de base, comme les dictionnaires et les encyclopédies, offrent un point de départ solide pour entamer des recherches. Elles permettent de se familiariser au langage spécifique d'une discipline ou d'un sujet, facilitent la compréhension des concepts fondamentaux et proposent des listes d'ouvrages complémentaires pour orienter efficacement le début de vos investigations.
A Dictionary of Climate Change and the Environment par 
A dictionary of weather par 
Dictionnaire des sciences de la Terre: continents, océans, atmosphère par Elsevier's dictionnary of climatology and meteorology in English, French, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese and German par International meteorological vocabulary par 
Climate vulnerability: understanding and addressing threats to essential resources (en ligne) par 
Encyclopedia of atmospheric sciences par 
Encyclopedia of global environmental change par 
Encyclopedia of global warming & climate change (en ligne) par 
Encyclopedia of weather and climate par 
Encyclopedia of world climatology (en ligne) par 
Oxford companion to global change (en ligne) par 
Water encyclopedia (en ligne et imprimé) par Disponibles sur le Web:
Handbook of natural ressource, vol.6: Atmosphere and Climate (en ligne) par 
Handbook of weather, climate and water: atmospheric chemistry, hydrology and societal impacts par 
Handbook of weather, climate and water: dynamics, climate, physical meteorology, weather systems and measurements par 
The handbook of meteorology (en ligne) par Organisation météorologique mondiale. Atlas international des nuages
An atlas of the global water cycle par Multimedia atlas of global warming and climatology par 